O'BRIEN and MURTAGH JUDDMONTE?
- Dave Scott
-
Topic Author
- Administrator
-
- Posts: 43867
- Thanks: 3338
O'BRIEN and MURTAGH JUDDMONTE?
16 years 8 months ago
Murtagh summoned to appear at Ballydoyle inquiry
JOHNNY MURTAGH has been called to join trainer Aidan O'Brien and jockey Colm O'Donoghue in facing the disciplinary panel of the British Horseracing Authority in London on Thursday over a possible breach of the 'team tactics' rules in last month's Juddmonte International Stakes.
In a surprise turn of events, the panel is to consider whether Murtagh, number one rider to O'Brien at Ballydoyle, has committed a breach of rule 220(i) or 220(iii), in that he "instructed, directed or encouraged Mr O'Donoghue to ride in the way he did".
O'Donoghue was riding the pacemaker Red Rock Canyon in the Group 1 event and the BHA will look into whether he moved off the rail purposefully to help Johnny Murtagh and stablemate Duke Of Marmalade take the gap and eventually win the race.
O'Donoghue could be found in breach of rule 153(iv)(a) "by making a manoeuvre in the interests of a horse from the same stable".
O'Briencould fall foul of rule 153(vi) "in that the trainer of a horse whose rider found in breach of rule 153(iv) is deemed guilty of an offence unless he is able to satisfy the stewards that he instructed his rider to treat every other horse in the race without favour".
In the immediate aftermath of the race, the BHA said no charges were to be brought against Murtagh.
JOHNNY MURTAGH has been called to join trainer Aidan O'Brien and jockey Colm O'Donoghue in facing the disciplinary panel of the British Horseracing Authority in London on Thursday over a possible breach of the 'team tactics' rules in last month's Juddmonte International Stakes.
In a surprise turn of events, the panel is to consider whether Murtagh, number one rider to O'Brien at Ballydoyle, has committed a breach of rule 220(i) or 220(iii), in that he "instructed, directed or encouraged Mr O'Donoghue to ride in the way he did".
O'Donoghue was riding the pacemaker Red Rock Canyon in the Group 1 event and the BHA will look into whether he moved off the rail purposefully to help Johnny Murtagh and stablemate Duke Of Marmalade take the gap and eventually win the race.
O'Donoghue could be found in breach of rule 153(iv)(a) "by making a manoeuvre in the interests of a horse from the same stable".
O'Briencould fall foul of rule 153(vi) "in that the trainer of a horse whose rider found in breach of rule 153(iv) is deemed guilty of an offence unless he is able to satisfy the stewards that he instructed his rider to treat every other horse in the race without favour".
In the immediate aftermath of the race, the BHA said no charges were to be brought against Murtagh.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
Time to create page: 0.111 seconds